Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Eames Aluminum Group Recognized with ICFF Editors’ Choice Award

Herman Miller’s Eames Aluminum Group received the Editor’s Choice Award for Best Outdoor Furniture at the 2011 International Contemporary Furniture Fair (ICFF) May 15. The four-day event is considered one of the premiere showcases of contemporary and modern design in North America.

“Returning the Eames Aluminum Group to outdoor spaces is a celebration of our heritage that we're excited to share with customers,” said Herman Miller Director of Retail Marg Mojzak. “These new materials, finishes, and hand-crafted industrial workmanship offer beauty and functionality, with the durability and performance of timeless design. This award is proof we are delivering on that promise.” Sixteen awards were given to the 590 exhibitors and were selected by a panel of design editors that included Anniina Koivu of Abitare, Sam Grawe of Dwell, Annie Block of Interior Design, Nadia Lionello of Interni, Bénédicte Duhalde of Intramuros, and Paul J. Makovsky of Metropolis.

First introduced by Herman Miller in 1958, the Eames Aluminum Group was designed by Charles and Ray Eames, and originally promoted as the “leisure group” or “indooroutdoor group.” Though intended for outdoor use, it wasn’t long before the collection of iconic seating moved inside exclusively, perhaps due to its lithe form. Today, Herman Miller has returned the Aluminum Group to its original outdoor intent. The 53 year old design is in the permanent collections of numerous design museums worldwide.

No comments: